At the FIFA World Cup Qatar 2022TM, Kylian Mbappe took home the Adidas Golden Boot award. One more than Lionel Messi, who won the Silver Boot, France forward scored eight goals. With four goals, Olivier Giroud won the Bronze Boot.

Mbappe scored five goals in the knockout round, including a hat-trick in the final, which France ultimately lost on penalties. He scored three goals in the group stage and three more in the elimination stage.

He became just the second player since 1974 to total more than six goals. Mbappe has frequently been compared to Ronaldo, who scored eight goals for Brazil in 2002.

Additionally, the 24-year-old increased his total number of World Cup goals to 12, one short of Just Fontaine’s France record.

Award winners

adidas Golden Ball: Lionel Messi

FIFA Fair Play Award: England

Adidas Golden Glove: Emiliano Martinez

Best Young Player: Enzo Fernandez

adidas Golden Boot: Kylian Mbappe

Golden Boot winners

1930: Guillermo Stabile (8 goals)

1934: Oldrich Nejedly (5)

1938: Leonidas da Silva (7)

1950: Ademir de Menezes (9)

1954: Sandor Kocsis (11)

1958: Just Fontaine, France (13)

1962: Florian Albert, Garrincha, Valentin Ivanov, Drazan Jerkovic, Leonel Sanchez and Vava (4)

1966: Eusebio (9)

1970: Gerd Muller (10)

1974: Grzegorz Lato (7)

1978: Mario Kempes (6)

1982: Paolo Rossi (6)

1986: Gary Lineker (6)

1990: Toto Schillaci (6)

1994: Oleg Salenko and Hristo Stoichkov (6)

1998: Davor Suker (6)

2002: Ronaldo (8)

2006: Miroslav Klose (5)

2010: Thomas Muller (5)

2014: James Rodriguez (6)

2018: Harry Kane (6)